If you’re locked up, one of the most important things is getting to see friends and family members. Visitation is allowed at Charleston jails, but there are certain hoops that must be jumped through first. Before visitation is permitted, an inmate must have been incarcerated for at least 72 hours (or three days). Once that hurdle is cleared, the inmate needs to schedule the visit at least 24 hours in advance, though in some cases, out of state visitors with photo ID may be allowed to make unscheduled visits if space is available.
Rules require that visitors present a valid photo ID and must be at least 17 years old, unless they have the consent of an adult to visit. Visitors are prohibited from giving anything to or receiving anything from inmates. Visitors are subject to search before entering the facility and personal items, such as purses, are not allowed in the visitation area.
What to wear (and what not to wear)
Anyone planning to visit a South Carolina detention facility should understand that shoes and shirts are required. In addition to these basic rules, visitation will not be allowed if law enforcement officials deem a person’s clothing inappropriate. That means no halter-tops, see-throughfabrics or revealing tank tops. Stay fully clothed and you should be all right.
No one in a South Carolina detention center is permitted to have physical currency in his or her possession. Instead, money is placed on an inmate’s account so that he or she can make purchases through the commissary. Money is deposited into the account at a kiosk located in the lobby of the jail or by sending money orders by mail. Once the money has been deposited, the inmates use their inmate number and birth date to access and place orders through the commissary. Inmates are limited to a maximum $100 per week in commissary spending.
Once a person has been officially booked, he or she will be given the opportunity to make a telephone call to alert family members, friends or an attorney about the arrest. The rules provide for free local telephone calls, meaning no costly long distance. After this initial call, all other telephone calls will be collect, so the recipient must accept charges for the call to go through.
Inmates in Charleston, South Carolina are allowed to receive mail during their stay, but, as with anything, there are rules that must be followed. For one thing, the person sending the mail to an inmate must be sure to include a return address. Without a return address, the mail will be sent back to the postal service. It also bears mentioning that the only mail inmates are allowed to receive are letters, no packages will be delivered. This means inmates cannot receive food, clothes, Polaroid’s or personal items by mail. Magazines and newspapers are allowed if shipped directly from the publisher. Finally, everything that comes and goes from a South Carolina jail will be inspected and anything containing contraband can later be used as a basis for further criminal charges.
When a person is booked into a South Carolina jail, he or she is required to surrender all personal property or money that is in his or her possession. This personal property thankfully is not forfeited, but instead held by law enforcement officials to be picked up at a later date. Personal property can be picked up by anyone that the inmate approves of, something that can happen during normal business hours.
If you have a loved one in jail, and need a Criminal Defense Lawyer in Charleston, SC, contact David Aylor today at 843-744-4444 or click the “LIVE CHAT” button on this page.