Every state in the U.S. has requirements regarding car insurance. This car insurance plays a huge role when a personal injury claim is filed after an accident occurs, and South Carolina isn’t an exception. That’s why it is important to understand South Carolina’s rules about insurance, how your coverage will affect a car accident claim, and what the penalties are if you drive without adequate insurance coverage.
South Carolina Is an At-Fault State
South Carolina follows traditional at-fault laws when it comes to the financial responsibility for losses that occur as a result of a car accident. This financial responsibility may include expenses for injuries, vehicle damage, loss of income, and more. Although the driver that is at fault will likely have insurance that will cover some of the expenses resulting from the accident, the coverage will only pay up to the limits of the policy.
If you are injured in a car accident in South Carolina, you can proceed in three different way to collect compensation for your damages:
- You can file a claim with your own insurance company if the loss is covered under your insurance policy. If this happens, your insurance company will likely pursue a claim against the driver’s policy that was at fault for the accident.
- You can file a third-party claim with the insurance carrier of the at-fault driver.
- You can file a personal injury claim against the at-fault driver in civil court.
South Carolina Car Insurance Requirements
When you apply for a driver’s license you must prove that you have liability insurance on your vehicle or that you don’t own a vehicle. The state requires those individuals that do own a car to have a liability policy with at least these minimums:
- $25,000 for bodily injuries and death of one person in accidents that are caused by the driver/owner of the vehicle that is insured.
- $50,000 for total bodily injuries and death liability in accidents that are caused by driver/owner of the insured vehicle.
- $25,000 per accident for property damage that was caused by the driver/owner of the vehicle that is insured.
This insurance coverage will pay the property damage, medical bills, and other costs for the drivers, passengers, and other people that suffered injuries or damages in an accident that you cause up to the limits of your policy. Some people choose to have more coverage than the minimum, but these limits are the bare minimum required by South Carolina laws.
Contact a South Carolina Car Accident Attorney Today
If you or a loved one has suffered severe injuries or damages or died, as a result of an accident that was caused by someone else, you may be entitled to compensation for the injuries, damages, or death. Although there are minimums required by the state, these minimums rarely pay for all the damages that are sustained in a serious accident. That’s where a personal injury attorney can help.
The personal injury attorneys at David Aylor Law Offices can review your accident and determine what the best course of action would be and what compensation you may be entitled to. Contact one of our conveniently located offices today to schedule a consultation.
David Aylor is a Criminal Defense Attorney who practices in Charleston, Walterboro, and Myrtle Beach, SC. He graduated from the University of South Carolina School of Law, and has been practicing law for 11 years. David Aylor believes in defending the accused. Learn more about his experience by clicking here.